Married!

Yes, yes… I know!  I’ve been delinquent again in posting!

Kristina and I have been married one month tomorrow!  Here’s one of our favorite pics from the wedding.  Kristina & ScottThe photographer that the chapel supplied was pretty decent although I would have liked it if his camera had come off f1.2 at times.  About half the images that we got were blurry!  There were a bunch of good ones though!

The plans were to go out on the strip and do a quick photo shoot after the wedding but we were both exhausted with emotion and the fact that it was like 11pm when we finally got back to the hotel.  The room we had at the Wynn was pretty nice!

The rest of the week was pretty great!  We did do a photoshoot out on the old strip on Freemont Street.  The place was mobbed!  Two concerts going on, people everywhere, lights flashing, Kris in her dress, and me carrying a light stand and umbrella, tripod and camera through it all!  At one point, after about three shots a policeman on a bike stopped and asked what we were doing.  I explained that we had just been married the night before and we wanted to do some portraits.  He said that the light stand and umbrella were freaking out the security people there and pointed up into the sky.  It took Our Wedding-0058a second before I understood that the whole place is covered with cameras, watching everything.  I said that we were just going to do a few shots and then move on and he said that would be ok.  So, off we went!  Found this cool wall outside one of the hotels and used it for a great background – I just love this image of Kristina!

The farther down the street we went, the more people we had to contend with.  It would have been nice to have an assistant with us to keep an eye on stuff but we made out pretty well!

The next days were filled with walking the strip and traveling to shoot.  We had lunch at the Carnegie Deli and, thankfully, I knew enough to order one sandwich for the two of us!  Best reuben we’ve had but we still couldn’t finish it!  Then we stopped at Serendipity 3 for dessert later on and couldn’t finish those either!

The highlight of our trip (outside of marrying the love of my life) was our run up to Zion National Park.  It was one of the most rewarding days of shooting that I have ever had!  Kristina will tell you a slightly different story though…

You see, I was busy shooting a small waterfall and helping a group of woman to get a decent shot of themselves with their iPhone.  Meanwhile, Kristina had walked upstream and discovered a Great Blue Heron in the stream!  She stalked it for quite a while before I found her.  Of course I wasn’t going to go without shooting it too!  I worked my way in pretty close and, shooting with my 70-200, I was getting some pretty good images.  The heron was keeping one eye on me and one eye on the water the whole time.  I figured he was looking for lunch.  I thought to myself that it would be great to capture him catching a fish.  As I watched, he suddenly got much more intent on the water.  LasVegas2013-0525I reached up and switched to continuous high (9 frames per second on my D3) and waited.  Sure enough, as I sat there, the heron’s head dove into the water and pulled out a 6 inch long fish!  I had started shooting as soon as I saw his first move and continued until he swallowed his lunch!  It was awesome!

Unfortunately, Kristina had already packed up her camera and was preparing to move on.  She was very upset that I got this capture and she did not.  But, without her, I would have never seen the heron at all.  So this is her shot too!

More to come so stay tuned!

About Scott Slattery Photography

I am a wedding and portrait photographer. Actually, I will pretty much photograph anything! Sports, nature, wildlife, babies, toddlers, kids, parents, trees, houses, buildings. Whatever! I just have lots of fun doing it and even more fun sharing my images!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

