A New Step

Scott Slattery Photography

At the Carson Family Reunion this last August!

Many of you have followed my journey over the years, some as close friends, some as wedding and portrait clients, some as Facebook acquaintances and fellow photographers.  My life is about to take another major step.  My fiancé, Kristina, and I have made wedding plans!

Originally we had planned a March 1st wedding (3-1-13) but we weren’t sure of where to do it, who would be able to attend, how much it was going to cost, all those details that many of our wedding clients have to contend with.

But serendipity has intervened in our favor!  Kristina, as many of you know, is the Assistant Vice President at Maple City Savings Bank in Hornell, NY.  The Board of Directors and the bank President have chosen to send her to the National Convention for the Independent Community Bankers of America during the week of March 11th in, you guessed it, Las Vegas!

After some planning we have changed our wedding date to March 13th (3-13-13)!  Yes, I know what you’re thinking, 13 is unlucky.  However, as my birthday is also on the 13th, it has always been a lucky number for me!

We are flying out of Buffalo on March 8th, carrying a bunch of cameras, flashes, and stuff… oh, and clothes, too…  We will be at Circus Circus for Friday and Saturday night and then moving to the Wynn Las Vegas and Encore for Sunday through Friday and returning on Saturday.

Kristina has done some exhaustive research and chosen a pretty chapel for our ceremony!  You can see it at Vegas Weddings.  Our ceremony is at 9pm (midnight EST) so it’s a bit late for people here in the east.  We’ll be providing a live feed via Internet so that everyone that wants to can watch, too!

We’re thinking of some side trips to Bryce Canyon, Red Rock Canyon, and all around Vegas with our cameras, of course.  So there should be lots of great images when we get back and probably some posted to Facebook while we’re gone!

This trip wouldn’t be possible without Kristina’s mom, Mary, who is going to move in with the kids for the week!  I can’t begin to thank her for giving us this gift!  It would be great if we could afford to bring all of our kids with us but six plane tickets is just out of the question!

And one more bit of serendipity… the WPPI (Wedding and Portrait Photographers International) conference just happens to be in Las Vegas the same week!  I’ve always wanted to go to it but never had the opportunity.  So, while Kristina is attending her convention, I’ll be attending one of my own!

These last few years have been an emotional roller coaster for me.  Losing my job at Kodak to layoffs – the only job that I ever worked.  Continuing on with my photography business.  My divorce and all the feelings that go with that, the difficulties that both of my girls have gone through and are now passed and well on the way to acceptance.  Finding Kristina, falling in love with her and learning how to navigate a new relationship filled with love and acceptance.  My Dad’s passing and the effect that has had on my mom and my siblings.

And now it seems that all this was meant to be.  I’m not saying that everything is roses, but everything that matters is.  I can’t wait to continue on this journey with Kris and see our children grow, and to watch our love grow, if that’s even possible.

Kristina, I promise to love you and cherish you and protect you from harm.  I promise to try to be the best person that I can be and to stand by your side, for the good things and the bad things that life will throw our way.  I promise to accept you as you are and help you in any way that I can to reach the goals that we both have. You make me laugh and try to be a better man.  Thank you for loving me and giving yourself to me.

About Scott Slattery Photography

I am a wedding and portrait photographer. Actually, I will pretty much photograph anything! Sports, nature, wildlife, babies, toddlers, kids, parents, trees, houses, buildings. Whatever! I just have lots of fun doing it and even more fun sharing my images!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Step

  1. lori says:

    Wow, nice Scott, Kristina and you will have a second chance of life together…I give you best wishes and will stay up to see this wonderful wedding that will join two families together bythe love two special people….thank you for sharing! Lori Soble Bel

Leave a Reply

