Happy Thanksgiving To All

There are many things that I am thankful for this week.  My fiancé, Kris, who is my love, my support, my wall to bounce ideas off, my partner, my photo buddy, and my friend.  Our children, Shannon, Wendy, Tyler, Shane, Dakota, and Eric, all of whom keep life interesting to say the least.  Jeffrey, my son-in-law, who takes such good care of Wendy.  My mom and Kris’s mom, two of the greatest women ever, who struggle through adversity with a healthy dose of perseverance and stubbornness – I really wish that we could help them more than we do.  My sister, Kristina, who gave my Dad the level of care that he needed in the last months he was with us and who continues to care for mom through her pancreas surgery.  My brother Brian, his wife Sarah, and their kids, Becca and Colton, my brother Michael, his wife Wendy, and their son Liam.  I wish that we could see each other more often or at all.  Kris’s brother David and her sister Vicky, and Vicky’s husband Paul, and Steve, the brother I have yet to even meet.  All of our friends, here and everywhere.

This is the first Thanksgiving that my Dad isn’t here with us.  It still saddens me that he is gone but I feel him with me and those little memories, things that didn’t seem important at the time, are what keep his love alive.  As I was carving the turkey and cleaning it up later on, all I could think about was Dad sitting at the end of the table after everyone was sitting in the living room or cleaning up in the kitchen.  He would pick every last morsel of meat off that bird, sampling little bits all the time.  Funny how that is the memory that sticks with me the most…

Christmas is only 5 weeks away and I’m sure that we will all have a similar memory of our own.  Don’t keep it to yourself.  Share it with someone you love.  Spread the wealth of good tidings and fun times and be thankful, as I am, for the people that surround you and make life worth living.

I hope that everyone has had a wonderful Thanksgiving Week and that this small note brings some thought and more than a little love into your day.

About Scott Slattery Photography

I am a wedding and portrait photographer. Actually, I will pretty much photograph anything! Sports, nature, wildlife, babies, toddlers, kids, parents, trees, houses, buildings. Whatever! I just have lots of fun doing it and even more fun sharing my images!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

