Shooting at the Rochester Public Market

There are few things that I love to do more than spend time with Kris and our cameras!  This morning we made our way up to Rochester to meet with a couple of friends from my years at Kodak, Ken Gartley and Paul Schencke, and a new friend, Mary-Ann Thorne-Smith.  It was Kris and my first time at the public market!  I shopped many times at the open air market in Kiel, Germany while I lived there but, in all the years I have lived in and around Rochester, I hadn’t once been to the market there!

We met at Java Joe’s for coffee and a little something to munch on.  Being that it’s Saint Patrick’s Day and all, they had a Shamrock Latte as a special so Kris and I each had one.  Flavored with irish cream – it was yummy!  They even topped it with a little green sugar sprinkles!  A double chocolate biscotti finished our snack!

After sitting around and gabbing about Kodak and who was still there, Paul’s “cabin” in Prattsburgh, and Ken’s mustang, we finally decided to get shopping.  Lots more stuff available than I thought there would be for this time of year and the weather cooperated nicely – 60’s and overcast – not too hot, not too cold!

Overall the market was pretty decent.  Prices were good and there were deals to be made!  We picked up some bread, parsnips, scallops, and three hyacinths to plant at home.  The only real disappointment I had was that there were few meat vendors or butchers, and the ones that were there weren’t very impressive.  I remember going to the market in Kiel and being able to pick up a couple of duck breasts or a nice piece of pork or beef, freshly carved.  Didn’t seem to be much of that here at all.

We had lots of fun though and got some great pics of food and some characters!  Two in particular – a baby wearing the green at the coffee house and an older gentleman sitting outside people watching!  What great faces!

I hope everyone has a wonderful Saint Patrick’s Day!  Imbibe responsibly, whatever your choice of beverage!  I’ll be lifting a Guinness to each of you!

About Scott Slattery Photography

I am a wedding and portrait photographer. Actually, I will pretty much photograph anything! Sports, nature, wildlife, babies, toddlers, kids, parents, trees, houses, buildings. Whatever! I just have lots of fun doing it and even more fun sharing my images!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shooting at the Rochester Public Market

  1. Lisa Sutherland says:

    Scott, go back when the season is in swing…you will be amazed at the meat vendors as well. And if you guys are in the market for plants, don’t dare miss Flower City Sundays! I love the market but don’t get there near often enough. Saturdays always seem to be taken up with soccer games or some such. Let me know if you and Kris are going again and maybe we can meet up at Java Joe’s, it’s very close to the house!

Leave a Reply

