Spring has sprung and the first wedding of the year is done!

Scott Slattery Photography

Crocus

Like most people, I look forward to spring with enthusiasm!  Looking for those first flower blooms, kids running around in shorts (who cares that it’s only 50 some degrees out… after months of 20’s it feels like 80!), people washing their cars in the driveway, trees budding, and the grass turning back to green.  Getting out my golf clubs and going out to hit some balls.  Wish Dad was here.

He was always jones-ing to get out on the course, too.  Now would be the time for getting things ready in the garden so that he and Mom could get things planted as soon as possible.  He always had a bunch of tomato plants going!

When I first saw sprouts coming up next to the house I immediately recognized them as crocuses.  Each day I went out to see if they were blooming yet.  Last week they finally did!  A gorgeous purple, too!  This afternoon I went out and shot this picture with my macro lens.  Now it feels like spring!

Kris and I shot our first wedding of the year last Friday night!  Julie and Mike’s wedding and reception was held at Lakeshore Country Club in Greece, NY.  I shot Julie’s daughter

Scott Slattery Photography

Julie and Mike getting announced into their reception!

Sarah’s wedding a year and a half ago and I was so pleased that Julie called me when she and Mike were making their plans!  It’s always nice to photograph a wedding where there are a lot of familiar faces!

It wasn’t the best day for a wedding as the temperature was in the 20’s again and it was snowing pretty hard at times.  We drove up 390 in the afternoon and there were times when visibility was a tenth of a mile or less!  No outdoor pics for this wedding.  Too cold, too windy, and, being a few days before the time change, too dark!  We had plenty of fun inside and only the smokers in the crowd had to suffer outside!

Kris and I showed up a couple hours before the wedding to shoot details and such.  While it was still light out I went outside to shoot a little bit.  Julie is an avid golfer also and I knew that she would appreciate a few shots from the course.  Like I said, cold and windy! While I was out there I was surprised to see a guy hitting balls off the tenth tee – totally hard core – and a little bit nuts!

So, we had a great night with good friends, drove home (with some Tim Horton’s coffee), and recovered on Saturday.  Then today it’s back into the 60’s and gorgeous out again!

I’m looking forward to getting the garage wiring finished this week and doing some cleaning up in preparations for setting up the studio so I can get shooting some senior portrait models!  Look for some of those to be posted soon!

Have a great week, everybody!

About Scott Slattery Photography

I am a wedding and portrait photographer. Actually, I will pretty much photograph anything! Sports, nature, wildlife, babies, toddlers, kids, parents, trees, houses, buildings. Whatever! I just have lots of fun doing it and even more fun sharing my images!
This entry was posted in Weddings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

