Continuing Education…

One of the most important things to do as an artist is to continue to grow and change and evolve.  I am constantly reading everything I can get my hands on – books, magazines, websites, blogs, whatever I can get!  Another avenue to explore is classes taught by other photographers.  Kris and I signed up for a GRPP (Greater Rochester Professional Photographers) sponsored class with Walter van Dusen

Walter

Walter expounds on his gun light!

and Chris Rioux at The Green Lantern Innin Fairport, NY to do just that!

Walter and Chris gave a great class!  Walter went through a bunch of different lighting techniques and some pretty wild lights including this gun light made from a video light and the body part of an battery powered drill.  Very strange but pretty cool at the same time!

A few years ago I took a class at the Santa Fe Workshops with Gregory Heisler where we made images using everything from flashlights to fluorescents to studio lights.  Very similar classes with totally different presentations!

Here’s a nice pic that I took from the cheap seats…  With small, dim light sources you also have to deal with higher ISO’s and hand-holding at slow shutter speeds… hmmm… sounds an awful lot like shooting weddings in dark churches!

Another great production from GRPP!

Kris

Nikon D3, ISO 2000, 1/60s at f4

John

Nikon D3, ISO 3200, 1/60s at f1.4

About Scott Slattery Photography

I am a wedding and portrait photographer. Actually, I will pretty much photograph anything! Sports, nature, wildlife, babies, toddlers, kids, parents, trees, houses, buildings. Whatever! I just have lots of fun doing it and even more fun sharing my images!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

